The supreme organ of the Nigerian Library Association is the Council which consists of the Executive Committee, Chairmen of all State Chapters and the Federal Capital Territory, the National Librarian/CEO of the National Library of Nigeria, the Registrar of the Librarians Registration Council of Nigeria, as well as Chairmen of special interest groups (Sections).

Individual members of the Association now numbering about 5,000 drawn from various types of libraries, would usually belong, in the first instance, to one of the 36 States/FCT chapters or/and one or more of the thirteen special interest groups. The thirteen special interest groups currently in existence are:

  1. Academic and Research Libraries (ARL)
  2. Association of Government Libraries (AGOL)
  3. Association of News Media Librarians of Nigeria (ANLON)
  4. Association of Women Librarians in Nigeria (AWLIN)
  5. Cataloguing, Classification and Indexing (CAT & CLASS)
  6. Nigerian Association of Law Libraries (NALL)
  7. National Association of Library & Information Science Educators (NALISE)
  8. Public Libraries Section(PLS)
  9. Information Technology Section (ITS)
  10. Nigerian School Library Association (NSLA)
  11. Association of Libraries for Visually Handicapped (ALVH)
  12. Preservation and Conservation Section (PCS)
  13. Medical Libraries Section (MLS)